Introducing Rachael Millsom

To the otherWISE network,

I am writing to introduce myself as the new Project officer for the ACT otherWISE project.  I am replacing Julia Collin; however Julia will be around until the end of the year to assist with the project, which will ensure a smooth handover.

Please note our new email address and update your records accordingly: otherwise@consact.org.au.

In this email I will tell you a little bit about myself, what we are planning for the rest of this year.

I little about myself.  I have recently moved to Canberra from Melbourne and I love the open space that Canberra offers.  Being someone that loves outdoor activities, including hiking skiing, riding and climbing, Canberra suits me well.

I completed a Bachelor of Science (Environmental) with honours in 1999. Since this time:

*       I have worked for Outward Bound Australia as a leader of outdoor education courses for young people, during my time at Outward Bound I also completed a certificate IV in outdoor recreation;

*       I commenced work for GHD (www.ghd.com.au), a professional services company, as an environmental scientist.  I have primarily worked in the areas relating to soil and water assessment.  I am currently working for GHD 3 days a week;

*       I Completed a Diploma in Mediation Teaching with the Inner Peace Institute http://www.innerpeace.com.au/; and

*       I became a facilitator for a workshop entitled In-Tuition and Purpose which I co facilitate approximately 3 times a year in Melbourne, through Inner Peace.

I am committed to making changes in my own life that lead to a more sustainable lifestyle.   I love riding my bike around Canberra and spending time in the garden.  I also love working with people and inspiring them to make changes in their own lives and to plan for their futures.  So I am excited to be taking on the position as Project  Officer for the ACT otherWISE project.

This Year: The plan for the rest of this year is to run a facilitator training workshop and two youth workshops.  It is likely that one of these workshops will be at a school and the other will be an open public workshop. Hopefully we will get those involved in the facilitator training to help out at these workshops.  We will also get up and running regular catch-ups / activities for ACT otherWISE members.

I look forward to being in touch with all of you. Please contact me if you have any questions, or any ideas for the project, especially relating to our workshops that we are planning for the rest of this year.  Alternatively if you do not wish to receive any further updates, please let me know and I will remove you from out list.

Sincerely

Rachael Millsom
Project Officer
ACT otherWISE

Leave a Reply

